top of page
  • Writer's pictureCabinet Gauchet Art Asiatique

Timeless Aesthetics: Our Advice to Collectors During the COVID-19 Health Crisis

Updated: Apr 3

The international art market is currently facing a financial crisis as an immediate result of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic in several countries. In light of the situation, our chief expert, Jean Gauchet, shares his advice with loyal readers on how to adapt during this period.


The recently published Art Market 2020 report by Art Basel and UBS demonstrates that travel restrictions and the cancellation of events in many countries directly and problematically impact the international art market. Several art fairs have either postponed or canceled their annual events, including Art Basel Hong Kong, Art Paris, and Art Dubai. These international fairs represent over 40% of global art sales. Auction houses have also had to postpone many sales originally planned for the coming months.


Given this situation, how should collectors and investors act? According to Jean Gauchet, the most crucial aspect is to have a clear preference for a specific artistic period or artist, which matters more than the quality of the desired artwork.


In times of instability, activities related to buying or selling artworks become scarcer. Therefore, patience is required to seize the opportune moment to sell the owned artwork. Jean emphasizes the importance of such investments: "The artwork you have acquired may stay in your home for a long time. Ensure, at the time of purchase, that it truly aligns with your tastes. Buy a piece that you will enjoy seeing daily in your environment."


This advice aligns with the approach followed by Gauchet Art Asiatique: assisting collectors in refining their tastes when creating their art collections. The motivations of a collector or investor can vary, ranging from purely profit-oriented goals to a desire to follow a specific artistic period, preserve or enrich a family collection, or make donations to museum institutions, among others. Regardless of their motivations, a collector must be able to understand their tastes and desires.


Considering the current COVID-19 crisis, as was the case during the 2008 financial crisis, Jean Gauchet underscores the importance of investing in quality artworks: "The market may experience a long period of stagnation, but it will certainly bounce back." He notes that "in times like these, the market becomes increasingly selective regarding the quality of presented artworks."


"Twelve years ago, we saw that the market for mid-priced works collapsed and remained very low for a long period. However, the prices of high-quality works remained stable," analyzes Jean Gauchet, predicting that "this is what is happening now."


Even though the Chinese market experienced a significant slowdown after a strong ascent until 2012, leading to a slowdown in the entire international market in the following years, the Art Market 2020 report asserts that prices of high-quality works remain constant, or potentially experience development.


"If you are buying porcelain, consider prioritizing imperial pieces," advises Jean Gauchet. "While they may be more expensive, they equate in terms of stability and financial returns to 30 pieces from the 19th century of significantly lower quality." The expert continues, "This also applies to bronzes, jades, or other antique works."


 So, who are the "Blue Chips," the artists to bet on in the current Asian art market? The Franco-Chinese painter Sanyu (1901-1966) and the Franco-Vietnamese painter Mai Trung Thu (1906-1980) are two examples given by Jean Gauchet.


"Prioritize quality artworks. You can always resell them easily at a good price, regardless of what happens in the art market."


Gauchet Art Asiatique is at your disposal to advise you on art purchases, collection building, and art investment. Feel free to contact us so that we can discuss your project with you.




11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page

• Jean Gauchet

Esthétiques intemporelles : Nos conseils aux collectionneurs pendant la crise sanitaire du COVID-19

Le marché de l’art international doit aujourd’hui faire face à une crise financière, résultat immédiat de la pandémie du COVID-19 qui sévit actuellement dans plusieurs pays. Au regard de la situation, notre expert principal Jean Gauchet, livre à ses fidèles lecteurs ses conseils afin de pouvoir s’adapter à cette période.


Le rapport Art Market 2020 publié récemment par Art Basel et UBS démontre que les restrictions concernant les déplacements ainsi que l’annulation des événements mis en place par de nombreux pays impactent directement, et ce de façon problématique, le marché de l’art international. En effet, plusieurs foires ont reporté ou annulé leurs événements annuels, c’est notamment le cas pour Art Basel Hong Kong, Art Paris et Art Dubai. Ces foires internationales représentent plus de 40% des ventes d’art à l’échelle mondiale. Les maisons de ventes aux enchères ont également dû reporter grand nombre de leurs ventes qui étaient, à l’origine, prévues dans les prochains mois.


Face à cette situation, comment collectionneurs et investisseurs doivent agir ? Selon Jean Gauchet, le plus important est d’avoir une préférence affirmée pour une période artistique ou un artiste, données qui importent davantage que la qualité de l’oeuvre convoitée.


Dans ces périodes d’instabilité, les activités liées à la vente ou à l’achat d’oeuvres d’art deviennent plus rares. Il faudra donc savoir être patient pour saisir le moment opportun de mettre en vente l’oeuvre dont on est propriétaire. De ce fait, Jean souhaite rappeler aux investisseurs l’importance d’un tel investissement : « L’oeuvre d’art que vous avez acquise peut rester longtemps dans votre intérieur, à vos côtés. Assurez-vous, au moment de procéder à un achat, qu’elle correspond vraiment à vos goûts. Achetez une pièce que vous aurez plaisir à voir quotidiennement dans votre environnement. » 


Ce conseil s’inscrit bien dans la démarche suivie par l’entreprise Gauchet Asian Art : aider les collectionneurs à affiner leurs goûts lors de la création de leur collection d’oeuvres d’art. Les motivations d’un collectionneur ou d’un investisseur peuvent être diverses. Elles peuvent répondre à un but purement lucratif, à une volonté de suivre une période artistique donnée, de faire perdurer ou d’enrichir une collection familiale, ou dans le but d’en faire don à des institutions muséales, etc. Mais quelles que soient ses motivations, un collectionneur doit avant tout être en mesure de bien cerner ses goûts et ses envies.


Au regard de la crise actuelle du COVID-19, comme ce fut le cas lors de la crise financière de 2008, Jean Gauchet souligne l’importance d’investir dans des oeuvres de qualité : « Le marché peut connaitre une longue période de stagnation, mais il rebondira certainement ». Il précise que « dans des moments comme celui-ci, le marché ne deviendra de plus en plus sélectif quant à la qualité des oeuvres présentées».


« Il y a douze ans, nous avons vu que le marché des oeuvres à prix moyen s’est effondré et est resté très faible pendant une longue période. Cependant, le prix des oeuvres de haute qualité est resté stable », analyse Jean Gauchet qui prévoit que « c’est ce qui est en train de se passer actuellement».


Même si le marché chinois a connu un ralentissement notable après une forte ascension jusqu’en 2012, situation qui a entraîné un ralentissement sur l’ensemble du marché international au cours des années suivantes, le rapport Art Market 2020 affirme que les prix des oeuvres de haute qualité restent constants, voire connaissent potentiellement un développement.


« Si vous achetez des porcelaines, pensez à privilégier les pièces impériales, conseille ainsi Jean Gauchet. Certes, elles sont plus onéreuses, mais équivalent largement en termes de stabilité et de rendements financiers 30 pièces du XIXe siècle de qualité nettement inférieure ». Et, poursuit l’expert, « cela est également valable pour les bronzes, les jades, ou autres oeuvres antiques ».


 Ainsi, qui sont les « Blue Chips », les artistes sur lesquels il convient de miser, du marché actuel de l’art asiatique ? Le peintre franco-chinois Sanyu (1901-1966) ou encore le peintre franco-vietnamien Mai Trung Thu (1906-1980) sont deux exemples donnés par Jean Gauchet.


« Privilégiez les oeuvres de qualité. Vous pourrez toujours les revendre sans difficulté à un bon prix, et ce quoi qu’il advienne sur le marché de l’art. »


3 views

Online Expertise

Send and receive information with our online expertise form by clicking here:

Professional & Confidential

Our expertise services are convenient and completely confidential. Following our expertise, clients will be given a professional document of expertise and evaluation attesting to the subject's origin, age and value.

Evolution & Success

Kubera Asian Art and Gauchet Asian Art share over 20 years of experience in the field of Asian art and expertise. The merging of the two companies have formed a dynamic fusion of experience and innovation.

  • WeChat QR Code Link
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Black Instagram Icon

Website By Dukky Websites & Design | Copyright © 2016 Gauchet Asian Art: 50 Rue Monge - Paris, France